life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

Things.

Leave a comment

Today was my first day of “disability leave” from work. I guess I am a prideful person, but the word “disability” just pricks at something in me. I want to be able to do anything I want to do (like work), so it bothers me when I just can’t.

Being at home, though, and slowing down, has enabled me to notice and accomplish some things I normally wouldn’t.

Here are a couple of things I noticed around the house today:

^This guy. In case you can’t tell, that’s a ladybug in our bathroom. It’s not just any old ladybug; it’s a supernatural ladybug. I don’t know what this ladybug is eating, but he has survived in our bathroom for over four weeks. As far as I know, he hasn’t left the bathroom. I admire him. He is a champion. Every time I see him, I shake my head at his determination to survive and thrive in what seems to be a pretty stupid choice of living arrangements. I don’t know what Supernatural Ladybug is thinking, but I like him.

This is our door that won’t shut. Everyone has one, right? Interestingly, this door shut when we first looked through the house, during our final walk-through, and through the first several weeks of our living here. Then all of a sudden, it just stopped closing. For good. The end. I’m your Door, and I’m not going to shut for you anymore.

I don’t know if it’s us, or the Door, but we can’t figure out a) why it won’t close, and b) how to fix it, so we just live with this weird Door that won’t shut. And we blockade it with objects so that the cats don’t get into the closet and cut themselves on our lawn mower. The Door that Won’t Shut is like my health right now. Instead of fighting my body, I can just accept it the way it is, make some adjustments, and be at peace with it.

Oh, and here’s someone I noticed the other day:

That’s Theodore. He’s one of our awesome cats who is totally comfortable sleeping whatever way he feels like whenever he feels like it. Love his freedom to be himself.

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

Share Your Thoughts...

