life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

The Simple Things

4 Comments

Part of my mornings lately have involved a little Golden French Toast K-cup by Green Mountain Coffee.

^This kicks my days off to a fantastic start.

Yesterday (Friday), shortly after I arrived at work, a friend in my lunch bunch informed me that we would be ordering Chipotle for lunch. Yee to the haw.

My co-worker Rachael brought her absolutely adorable 1.5-year-old daughter, Audrey, into work after that, and Audrey did the butt back-up straight into my lap. I loved it.

Then last night, for what Dayne and I have dubbed FUN FRIDAY (which basically means “no cooking”), we went out to Ruby Tuesday’s down the road for dinner. Let me just say that Ruby Tuesday’s is my new favorite Friday night hang-out. It is practically deserted (barely any wait time!), and you can people-watch all the cute elderly people sipping coffee and finishing up their steak & potatoes. Plus they gave me a HUGE glass of wine for the price of a NORMAL glass of wine. Their food was delicious! I was a happy camper.

Looking back on the rest of this week, it has been incredibly busy, but it has been incredibly good. I spent a lot more time with people I love this week outside of the house.

On Monday, I got to have dinner with Molly. It’s always good to have dinner with a dear friend. 🙂 We met at Friday’s and talked, laughed, and connected about life, school, marriage, and Crazy Love by Francis Chan. She is one of my favorite people on this earth.

Monday was a double-header, so after dinner with Molly I drove straight to our girls’ Bible Study. (At what age do you stop calling yourself and your peers “girls”? Womens’ Bible study makes it sound like we have middle-school-aged children.) Ashlee and Mia came out and we read Philippians 1, discussed fear, courage, identity, and the perspective of Paul, and laughed about life. Always a time that blesses my soul.

I went to bed late on Monday, but it was worth it.

On Tuesday, I was a little tired and reluctant, but Dayne and I went to our new couples’ small group after dinner. Our group is getting big, but instead of splitting the couples, they’ve decided to split up the women and men for the Bible discussion and prayer time (and hang out as a large group before and after). It was wonderful. I already have such a special place in my heart for these women. They are beautiful people and this small group is such a blessing to both Dayne and me.

I went to bed even later on Tuesday, but it was worth it.

On Wednesday, I had a terrible, awful, no-good, very bad day. For no reason at all. I was sad, tired, cranky, and feeling hated. I felt like my marriage was failing and like I didn’t have any friends at my job, both of which are false and a little absurd. My mood started to brighten towards 3:00 pm, when Dana came to visit my desk and I got to unload my feelings on someone. She listened well and told me that at least I am going home to “the love of my life”, and it “doesn’t get much sweeter than that”. Hellooo, being grateful for what I have! I took her advice and looked forward to going home. Dayne had the day off that day, which had made me jealous and even more tired, but I came home to a nice surprise. Dayne isn’t quite the “go-getter” that I am… he loves relaxing when he’s home, and he absolutely hates “to do” lists. Meanwhile, I am kind of a productivity addict and can’t rest until at least most everything’s done! That day, I left him a list of a few things he could do to help out around the house… when I came home, not only did he meet me at the door, but he had done everything on the list and MORE. He had taken care of things that were months in waiting. To me, that was such a HUGE blessing – I felt so taken care of and loved. It enabled me to totally relax when I got home, so we snuggled and talked and took a short nap together. It was lovely and completely turned my day around.

That night, I went over to Kay’s to see her beautiful new engagement ring (!!!) and catch up! She filled me in on her amazing engagement and wedding plans while making a delicious dinner! We chatted about all of our grown-up things: marriage, housing, cars, finances… then we joked about how old we are now. Because we are. We’re old. These things did not cross our minds when we were studying biology together in college. But it is so awesome to see how our lives have progressed and changed and our friendship has transformed. I’m so happy to have her in my life, and I can’t WAIT for her wedding!

I went to bed late on Wednesday, but it was worth it.

Thursday, my mood was 100x better, and I had a lovely day at work and at home. Dayne and I are taking small steps forward in our house hunt again, and we were able to spend time together relaxing and eating a home-cooked dinner (spaghetti with jar sauce – the ultimate comfort food!). We were in bed by 9:20 p.m. It was awesome.

And again, last night was FUN FRIDAY, which also turned into SAD FRIDAY because we watched the movie 50/50. I thought it was going to be one of those stupid comedies like Step Brothers or Pineapple Express… I guess I didn’t really pay attention to the previews. We’ll just put it this way: Dayne cried. Like, his eyes were bloodshot. I nearly had a panic attack with all the hospital and surgery scenes. But it was a well-done, albeit emotionally traumatizing, movie.

Today, I slept in. It was glorious. I’m going out to lunch with Amy, then Dayne and I are going to see a house today (first walk-through of 2012!), and Dayne is going to Lancaster tonight to hang out with some guy friends.

I like being busy. It wreaks havoc on my sleep schedule, but I feel so much fuller when I am busy spending time with people I love. And somehow, that’s been giving me a heightened awareness of all my blessings – even the little ones, like a K-cup.

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

4 thoughts on “The Simple Things

  1. Pingback: Our President’s Day Getaway with a Surprise « life of faith

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s Day « life of faith

  3. Love this post 🙂

Share Your Thoughts...

