life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

T-55 Minutes Until Dayne Comes Home

Leave a comment

Hello, blog. I am so sorry I have been carrying on this fake, one-sided relationship with you for the last few weeks. And by one-sided, I mean, you are all over me and I have just about zero interest in you. Maybe I’ll come crawling back when I’m lonely and have nothing else to do, but, for now, get a hold of yourself.

Seriously. Blogging was so much easier when I worked part-time. Now it is just about the last thing I want to do… in the same realm of desire on the to-do list as going to the dentist to have my fillings checked, calling around to figure out where my veil went, figuring out how to work my external hard drive, cleaning out the humidifier with vinegar, and doing yet one more load of laundry.

I’m a married woman with a full-time job that wakes me up at 5:30am everyday who is just trying to maybe prioritize going for regular walks and holding down at least two friendships. Which is why today, when I knew Dayne was coming home late from work, I got home around 4:30 and – after making 2 (count them, 2) important phone calls – I immediately changed into sweatpants, poured myself a glass of wine, lit a nice candle, pulled out my laptop, and started snacking on nachos and brownies.

I’m not kidding.

Blog, I do miss you. But my life is filled with so many other nagging and somewhat important things on a daily basis. And let’s not forget to mention the holidays, which just about wrecked any sense of normalcy or routine in my life.

I’m feeling a little out of whack. Two things I’m doing right as of now: 1) answering the phone politely every single time that person calls our office during the day, even though it feels akin to Chinese Water Torture, and 2) reading my Daily Walk Bible everyday (which feels great).

Everything else is sort of on a learning curve.

Thank you for bearing with me, blog, and I’m very hopeful for 2012. Our calendar is the clearest it’s ever been, and I think I will soon rediscover the joy in writing and reflecting on a regular basis.

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

Share Your Thoughts...

