life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

Things I Learned This Week…

2 Comments

1 ) I am an adult now. I cannot function at work on less than 7 hours of sleep. This means I’m not accomplishing what I’m capable of accomplishing, I’m not loving people the best I can, and I am not being fully available to God. I need to treat my body like a temple of the Holy Spirit (1 Corinthians 6:19-20), which starts with getting. enough. sleep.

2 ) Being picky about what I listen to on the way to work is a good thing. It’s one of the day’s most impressionable times, and what I listen to in the morning can set the tone for my whole day.

3 ) My co-workers are fun. I started taking lunch breaks with the women in the “lunch bunch” this week, and it is one of the best parts of my day. That 20 minutes is full of laughter and joy. I. love. it.

4 ) It’s not that hard to make new friends. All it requires is being around new people and putting yourself out there a little. I think I’m making new friends at work. This makes me incredibly happy.

5 ) Dayne is VERY helpful when I let him help. Note to self: let him help more often; you need breaks.

6 ) I should try to greet Dayne at the door everyday with a hug and a kiss to show appreciation for him. In other words: I should greet Dayne the way I want to be greeted.

7 ) I shouldn’t be afraid to ask for more work when I’ve run out of work to do. Getting more work done (even if it’s somebody else’s) is a better feeling than putzing. Putzing never helped anybody.

8 ) Meal planning is incredible as long as it’s realistic. So I should stay realistic and enjoy the freedom of not having to worry about weeknight meals! p.s. to myself: Don’t plan elaborate dinners for Friday nights unless friends are coming over. Friday nights can be pizza or take-out or date nights forever and ever, amen.

9 ) I’ve been reading the Bible and devotionals and Christian books for inspiration and motivation. It’s amazing what 5 minutes of reading can do for my whole day. Choose it.

10 ) Discussing faith with others opens up doors and encourages me and other people in our spiritual walks; I shouldn’t be afraid of it. Also, I should try to stay away from complaining. I need to be even more bold about giving people encouraging words when I sense that they need them! I shouldn’t worry about appearing lame. Who cares.

11 ) I need to be more open about my family’s spiritual needs (like last Sunday’s blog entry). It turns out that people do care and being open and vulnerable spiritually can lead you to the place where you need to be.

12 ) Know myself, my spouse, and our calendar well enough to know when it’s just better to stay in, pop in a DVD, light a candle or two, and snuggle under a blanket.

13 ) I need to pace myself… in all areas of life. Trying to rush or taking too much time out is detrimental. I need to seek a balance, be kind to myself, and try to always be open to interruptions. I should take time to really listen to people, even if it seems like a waste of time (i.e., don’t rush parents off the phone).

…Make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone. – Colossians 4:5-6

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

2 thoughts on “Things I Learned This Week…

  1. Wow! You’ve learned a lot this week! 🙂
    I think I should stop taking life superficially and look deeper into what I learn daily!
    Thank you!

    • Thanks for stopping by, reading, and commenting, Mike! I’m humbled by your comment 🙂 I hope all seasons of my life are like this (where I am constantly learning) – although right now I have to admit that I’m learning a lot everyday mostly because I am still in a state of transition (new marriage and new career). But I think God teaches us at least one thing everyday and we would do good for ourselves to be open to receiving it!

      Have a wonderful weekend 🙂

Share Your Thoughts...

