life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

Change.

2 Comments

I am in the process of adjusting to full-time work. I have to face the fact that I’m not going to be able to keep up with things like I used to – mail, magazines, books, laundry, dishes, cleaning, blogging, etc. The hardest part of it is deciding what to do with the free time I have at the end of the day when I have such limited energy.

Dayne was so impressed that I made dinner last night after a long first day of work (training) and an exceptionally long commute home, and I told him that my secret was not sitting down once I got home. If I just keep going, I’ll be able to get everything done.

Today I sat down.

My legs are sore from walking in heels all day, and my eyes feel so tired that I could just go to sleep right now.

I love my new job and I am thankful to have full-time work; it is just a process of letting things go and picking things up. Setting new bedtimes and routines (packing lunches, eating breakfast & drinking coffee before 7:30 a.m., making the bed with Dayne in the morning since we both get ready at the same time, etc.). I truly miss blogging. That is something I will have to fit in so far as I know how.

Anyways, speaking of change, we watched two good friends change their lives this weekend. It was an amazing thing to witness two people coming together and committing to loving each other and fighting for that commitment. Andy & Leah truly had a beautiful wedding ceremony filled with heartfelt worship, family support, prayer, passion, and Godly encouragement. And their reception was just gorgeous – tons of candles and Christmas lights and paper lanterns in an expansive barn. They even choreographed a waltz for their first dance.

There is something remarkably mystical and spiritual about marital love. It is so beautiful and yet so unbelievable a commitment. After having gone through the substantial adjustment of dating to marriage recently ourselves, it was so rewarding and inspiring to watch this new life unfold for another couple we care for deeply.

So today, Tuesday: cheers to Andy & Leah, to full-time work, to God creating awe-inspiring things, to change, and to the gift card Dayne and I are using for our Olive Garden dinner tonight!

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

2 thoughts on “Change.

  1. Gift cards are awesome, aren’t they?
    And congrats on the job. I’m sure I’ll have that adjustment someday, when I ever get a full time job…and I’m sure I’ll struggle just as much or more! Good luck!
    P.S. I love that “I do” ring photo!

    • Gift cards ARE awesome. Thank you for taking the time to comment 🙂 I hope you get a full-time job when the time is right, and then we can share advice for how to cope with the time loss!
      The “i do” ring photo was from our wedding; our photographer was awesome! Thanks!

Share Your Thoughts...

