life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

My New Job!

2 Comments

I didn’t plan on blogging twice today, but Dayne is working late tonight and I’ve already eaten my homemade dinner by myself, I’ve got Seinfeld on in the background, and I’m waiting for my raspberry-filled mini-brownies to cool. I think I’ll light a candle…

…Back.

I thought I’d tell you faithful readers about what transpired over the last week!

If you’ve been reading over the past couple of weeks, you’ll know that I was home sick from work last week with an awful sinus infection. That gave me some time to browse some jobs on Craigslist, even though I had all but given up on my job hunt. I came across a job posting for a position that I had already heard about: a Student Services Receptionist position at a local charter school. I was surprised to see it on Craigslist because I had heard about it weeks ago, and of course, in this economy, jobs tend to fill up fast.

I had resisted applying before because I was lazy and discouraged and didn’t think I could get a job in a school without a background in education. My friend, who is one of the teachers there, had emailed me about the job opening while Dayne & I were up in the Poconos. I was intrigued, but being away definitely put a delay on things. Once we came home, I just didn’t think I would get it, so I didn’t apply.

Then I saw the job posting on Craigslist, and I had nothing pressing going on, so I emailed the supervisor with my resumé. I got a call back the very next day, and went in for my first interview when I was finally starting to feel better last Wednesday. I interviewed with my would-be supervisor, and I fell in love with the job and the school and the staff. I was suddenly nervous when I left that interview; I’m not sure I’ve ever wanted a job so badly. It was also the most thorough interview that I’ve ever been a part of, so I knew that the school, and particularly my supervisor, were on top of things, which really impressed and simultaneously intimidated me.

I only had to wait a few hours before I got a call back for a second interview with the CEO (no pressure!).

I honestly have never been more nervous for an interview in my life.

Friday afternoon rolled around, and thankfully I had been put at ease a little by a fun girls’ breakfast that morning with four women and a baby from Dayne’s family. I met the CEO and his assistant, and my would-be supervisor was there for the interview as well. I was asked some really tough questions, and I asked some questions, too. It turned out that each person in that meeting room was a Christian, which made me even more excited about the job — we talked about ministry, and the CEO gave me some great advice about life and relationships in the midst of the interview.

Then he asked me how badly I wanted the job. I had been praying for clarity in case they would offer it to me, because I really didn’t want to leave my innkeeper position; I was trying to make the best decision for Dayne & me, in which more hours and higher pay would definitely be preferred. Thankfully, at this point in the interview, I felt absolute clarity and enthusiasm for the job, and I was very upfront with him about how I felt about the position and how nervous I had been because of how badly I wanted the job. I was asked to leave the room for a few minutes, and when I came back, I was offered the job. It reminded me of when Dayne proposed, actually – this would be a major life shift for me!

The job is amazing; in fact, I already love it, and I haven’t even started yet. I can’t think of one single thing I’d rather be doing, and the benefits and pay are better than I could have asked for. I’ve discovered through the past few months that I’m created for working with and serving people; it really brings me a sense of fulfillment and purpose. I also am ridiculously on top of things and detail-oriented, which is great for an administrative position (and maybe will channel some of that energy away from Dayne ;)).

The downside is leaving my job at the inn – I’ve loved my co-workers and the staff there in a way that I haven’t experienced in any other job. I walked out of the inn very happy almost every day. I hope the same for my upcoming job.

I have a week & a half left til I start at the school, and I can’t wait.

What was really impressed on my heart over the past week is just how sovereign God is. I didn’t find a job when I was really striving for one, we didn’t get the house we wanted when we were trying really hard to get it, and I just had to learn to trust that He knew what was best and was holding out until He could give us what was best. We (I) had to be patient. And He provided. He always provides.

It reminds me of one of my favorite verses that I have a harder time living than loving:

Unless the LORD builds the house, its builders labor in vain. Unless the LORD watches over the city, the watchmen stand guard in vain.” – Psalm 127:1

The LORD’s plans are best, and they’re the only plans that will work. The psalm goes on to say:

In vain you rise early and stay up late, toiling for food to eat — for He grants sleep to those He loves.” (Psalm 127:2)

Amen. We can rest in Him.

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

2 thoughts on “My New Job!

  1. This was beautiful, particularly your unpacking of Psalm 127. Thank you for that, and congratulations on what sounds like the start of a wonderful adventure!!

Share Your Thoughts...

