life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

Life As Adventure

Leave a comment

I had to get up early this morning to drive in rush hour to the car dealership for some routine maintenance, and I started listening to “Musical Ride” by Hanson on the way there on repeat (don’t stop reading; this post isn’t all about Hanson). I heard the song live for the first time at the show last week, and fell in love with it all over again.

Listening to the song this morning touched a longing of mine as the the lyrics describe going on a “musical ride”, how you shouldn’t hesitate, that you need to let go, that it will “take your breath away” and “change your life”. I don’t know if they were writing about their chosen career, or touring, or bringing their wives into their radical lifestyle, or if they were just trying to update The Beatles’ “Magical Mystery Tour”. I kind of take the “musical ride” as anything you choose to do in life that has an element of the unknown.

Here are the lyrics to give you a full picture:

Come on this musical ride with me
It might just change the life you think you’re gonna lead
If I’m right, you might just stop and see
I’ll take your breath away
Show you more than you have known
Every day, I’ll give you all this, nothing, and more

Why are you waiting? What is left to know?
There is no reason we should be standin’ still
Pick the destination and I’ll pick the road
I’ll take your breath away, show you more than you have known
Every day, I’ll give you all this, nothing, and more
I’ll give you all this, nothing, and more

Ooh, yeah

Don’t make your mind up just yet
There’s still so much for you to see
And every time you waste a moment, you waste make believe
I see it taking you hold, you must let go before it starts
This confrontation you keep feeling is your heart

It’s simple, but somehow, letting go’s the hardest part

Come on this musical ride with me
It might just change the life you think you’re gonna lead
If I’m right, you might just stop and see
It might just change your life, it might just blow your mind

Don’t make your mind up just yet
There’s still so much for you to see
And every time you waste a moment, you waste make believe
I see it taking you hold, you must let go before it starts
This confrontation you keep feeling is your heart

It’s simple, but somehow, letting go’s the hardest part

I started to think of all the dreams of adventure I’ve had in life — all the things I’ve aspired to be, the places I’ve wanted to visit, the paths I’ve contemplated, the relationships I’ve fantasized about. It was kind of surprising to realize how many dreams I’ve had. Here are a few of them:

-I’ve wanted to be a full-time missionary
-I’ve wanted to be a journalist
-I’ve wanted to be a mom
-I’ve wanted to tour with a band
-I’ve wanted to visit Israel to see where Jesus walked
-I’ve wanted to see the pyramids
-I’ve wanted to get married (hey, wait a second…)
-I’ve wanted to go to grad school
-I’ve wanted to write a novel

Then I started thinking: what gets in the way of our dreams? My husband, last night, called it “life”. I call it fears and limitations. There are some legitimate limitations each of us have: 1) I can’t fly, 2) I can’t continue living in a rented apartment and feeding myself without money, 3) I can’t be unfaithful to my husband, 4) I can’t handle being on the edge of a mountain — the list goes on. Some of these are chosen (i.e. my commitment to my husband, my recognition of my physical reaction to heights), and some of them are just fact (i.e. I won’t just take off from the ground when I jump & wave my arms around). I’d say beyond our legitimate limitations, the only barrier left to our dreams is our fears. A lot of people (not just my husband) call this life — just the way life is, life isn’t fair, you have to toil to survive, etc. But I think sometimes “life” is an excuse for not taking chances, not living an adventure, not seeing what could open up to you.

That’s why I love the lyric, “I’ll give you all this, nothing, and more. We can’t count on anything going as planned or imagined. But we will always come away from these adventures with “more” – a life lesson, uncovered skills or talents, or new relationships.

The whole balancing act of limitations, fears, and dreams is even more interesting to me now that I am married, and I have committed to live life and make decisions with my husband. I can’t just go do things on a whim; I have another person to take into account. It will be even more complicated if and when we have children.

But — most of my dreams are still wide open to me. I have innumerous opportunities in front of me every.single.day. It’s exciting and scary. Scary because a lot of dreams require sacrifices, taking chances… letting go.

I find that there’s a big part of me that still craves adventure. I think that’s why God intrigues me so much – He has a plan and He is constantly orchestrating every finite detail of our lives to grow us and draw us towards Him. Meanwhile, we have no idea what pieces are falling into place, or how beautiful the big picture is, or what He’s doing in the hearts around us — yet we trust Him and embark on this life adventure with Him, going wherever He calls.

“The LORD had said to Abram, ‘Leave your country, your people and your father’s household and go to the land I will show you.'” – Genesis 12:1

Are we willing to pick up and go whenever He calls? What adventure has God placed deep inside your heart?

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

Share Your Thoughts...

