life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

Thank God it’s October.

1 Comment

As much as I haven’t been ready for the cooler temperatures that suddenly dropped in the Downingtown area, I am really digging them! They’re an excuse to break out pants and sweaters and fleece jackets and throw blankets and actually use our duvet and drink more coffee and tea. Unfortunately, it also means I had to bring in my poor little herb garden (see previous post) from the cold so that it wouldn’t wilt and die! I hope the herbs like their indoor environment as much as they liked their outdoor one.

I love seeing the leaves change and snuggling and all the fall colors and pumpkins and funny-looking gourds and the apple and pumpkin and cinnamon and nutmeg baked goods! Dayne and I are waiting to make our second annual trip to Highland Orchards to pick apples to bake with and a family pumpkin to carve and put outside our front door 🙂

It’s been fun looking back on last October — last year Dayne and I went with Dayne’s parents to Gettysburg right as the cooler weather was setting in. We also went to Highland Orchards and got waaaaaay too many apples; we had applesauce, apple pie, and apple crisp for at least a week. We hosted a bonfire at Dayne’s parents’ farm where we ate s’mores and drank cider and Dayne even appeased me with a “hayride”. We joined Dayne’s friends for a weekend at a cabin in central PA where we visited the Pennsylvania Grand Canyon and ate chili and played games. My friend Jess came to visit all the way from Utah and we went with some best friends to northeastern PA for an overnight camping and rafting trip to celebrate Erica’s 25th birthday. It was a busy and VERY fun month!

Tonight, Dayne and I are leaving for the Poconos for a few days where I hope we’ll go hiking, see some waterfalls, and indulge in some “country” fun and food. I’m definitely bringing my camera and I hope to see some beautiful views and vibrant leaves. When we get back, we have some other events to look forward to, including our friend Courtney coming down from Boston with her boyfriend for a visit! And of course looking up some yummy pumpkin and apple recipes to bake…

If you have any favorite fall recipes or activities, please leave them in the comments!

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

One thought on “Thank God it’s October.

  1. I totally agree. October is the best month for food 😀

Share Your Thoughts...

