life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

My almost-green thumb!

1 Comment

A few weeks ago, I posted on facebook about my lack of green thumb. Since then, I’ve noticed that all my plants are actually thriving! I’m kind of excited. Probably because I don’t have a pet.

All four of my plants only require water once a week and lots of sun. The only thing I’m worried about is bringing in my herb garden before the first frost. It’s easy to maintain the little guys outside, but I’m not sure they’re going to do so well in an artificially heated environment with less direct sunlight.

I hope, though, that they do well because then I can season our dinners more cheaply, and I’ll be motivated to grow other herbs I use frequently, like parsley and rosemary (and mint for the summer!).

Meet: my plants!

This is my houseplant. I call it an Unidentified Growing Object because Gretchen gave it to me and neither of us know what kind of plant it is. Gretchen called the place where she got it and got the name, but she couldn’t pronounce it, and I couldn’t understand it, so it’s just called Houseplant. Houseplant does pretty well, but I’m thinking I’m going to have to thin it out soon ’cause it’s looking pretty crowded. I am afraid to do this. The leaves look kind of aggressive.

This is my baby herb garden!!! I’m so proud of these little guys. Crate & Barrel sells some gardening supplies, so when we created our wedding registry, I put various herb garden materials on it. Nobody got them for me (maybe everyone was aware of my precarious green thumb), but when we got Crate & Barrel gift cards, the first thing I bought was this herb garden starter kit! Super cute and virtually foolproof.

Meet my basil.

And cilantro.

And oregano.

Fun, right?! When we get a house, I want to branch out into an outdoor grounded garden with fruits & veggies, as well as more indoor plants. Any gardening or plant advice from seasoned plant-owners?

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

One thought on “My almost-green thumb!

  1. Pingback: Thank God it’s October. « life of faith

Share Your Thoughts...

