life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

Verses I Want to Memorize.

Leave a comment

These came up in my last Beth Moore Bible study video, and they are incredibly poignant for me at this point in my life:

“But Zion said, ‘The LORD has forsaken me, the LORD has forgotten me.’ Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you! See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are ever before me.” – Isaiah 49:14-16

I struggle very often in my heart with feeling like God has forgotten me. I know theologically in my head that He hasn’t, He doesn’t, He never will – it is an impossibility because of the nature of God Himself. But in my heart – I feel abandoned and outcast. When I saw this verse, I felt like it was written specifically for me, aimed directly at my deepest heart. Though everyone in the world could forget me, God will not. He has engraved me on the palms of His hands. Oh, and the “your walls are ever before me” part confused me until I started looking up various translations of the verse. Turns out it’s a reference to the destruction of Jerusalem’s temple, to its demolished walls and the rebuilding/restoration process. It’s just a reminder to me that God cares about our hearts. He cares about what happens to us. This verse says that these things are on His mind all the time. What a relief to know that the things that upset me are an obsession for the LORD! His heart’s desire is to bring me through all the destruction and devastation in my life and to restore me to be a radiant temple for Him. How humbling and amazing His love is… so persistent, unending, and perfect.

“The LORD your God will circumcise your hearts and the hearts of your descendants, so that you may love him with all your heart and with all your soul, and live.” – Deuteronomy 30:6

I wanted to use this as a wedding verse, but Dayne didn’t like the word “circumcise”. Don’t get freaked out by that. This verse inspires so much hope in me. When I begin to realize and grow in understanding of the Father’s love, my gut reaction is that I want to love Him back! 110%! But as we all know, we are human and imperfect and it is a struggle to put Him first, to love and obey Him all the time. So how wonderful to know that He helps us along by restoring our heart (as He is restoring us altogether like the temple in the verse above). And this leads to LIFE — “…so that you may love him with all your heart and with all your soul, and live“. What leads to life? Loving the LORD. Fully.

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

Share Your Thoughts...

