life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

One Year.

1 Comment

One year ago today, I began walking a path that would be life-changing. I had no idea what would happen, what I was getting myself into, or what this path was even supposed to look like. But, by faith, I began walking.

Thankfully, I had someone else walking the path with me. This someone had never stepped foot on this kind of a path before, but somehow, with me, decided it was worth it.

The beginning of the path was rocky, with lots of bumps, and lots of unfamiliar territory. At times we had to clear the brush and debris and forge our own path. There were some very beautiful places on the path, as well as some very dark and terrible places that both of us wanted to get away from as fast as possible. Thankfully, we got through the dark places together, instead of running from them separately.

When I’ve wanted to stop walking, he has fought for us to keep going. He has reassured me, encouraged me, led me, and loved me completely. When either of us had doubts about where the path was leading, we’d rest and talk and encourage each other.

On February 12, 2011, we reached an important point on the path. From then on, we turned onto a new path, which looked very much like the old one, but wider and more promising. We are more leisurely and secure on this path. It still has its dark moments, but we’re learning more and more how to get through them together.

On July 29, 2011, we’ll begin walking an entirely new path that will be totally unfamiliar to both of us. We’ve seen glimpses of other people’s paths, of their dark places and bright places, and also places where the path has dropped off and been completely overgrown. We will commit to our new path and staying on it together; to following it wherever it leads and facing whatever it brings us through.

 

On April 4, 2010, Dayne and I started dating. I can’t express in adequate words my bewilderment at what God orchestrated, my happiness over the past year, and my thankfulness for Dayne as a person. He is an incredible man, a hard worker, and a great leader. He is dedicated, loyal, fun, quirky, determined, loving, safe, protective, smart, thoughtful, attractive :), talented, and respectable. Overall, he is perfect for me.


If Dayne reads this: Happy anniversary, honey! I am so happy to be with you and doing life together. Can’t wait for dinner tonight!

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

One thought on “One Year.

  1. Yayy!! I too am incredibly thankful that you two started dating 1 year ago, otherwise I may never have met you and gained such a great friendship 🙂 I’m SO excited for our girl’s night this weekend, and am even more excited to see you and Dayne continue to grow in your relationship together!

    P.S. If you have any wedding DIY projects in process – feel free to put me to work on Saturday! I’d LOVE to help you any way I can!

Share Your Thoughts...

