life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

The Importance of Seeking God.

Leave a comment

Just had a wonderful time being out for food & drinks & catch-up with Kay, and last night I had a wonderful time hanging out at Amy’s apartment having a heart-to-heart with Amy. These pieces of time really enrich my soul — I feel the difference — and that is how I know they are a gift from God & that close Christian friendships are designed by Him. I have so much love in my heart for each of those girls and am really grateful for them and what God is teaching me through them! They are such an encouragement to me.

I’ve realized I need to take more time out for God and specifically being in His Word. Almost every other activity is draining, while I feel noticeably refreshed, sustained, at peace, wise, hopeful, secure, and loving when I invest my time with the LORD, studying the Bible. It’s made to be that way. “You have made us for yourself, O LORD, and our hearts are restless until they rest in you.” – St. Augustine. Oh, that I would remember this and believe it and carry it with me! I always forget, and then I am re-awakened when I return to the right order of things. God should come first. <– remember this, remember this, remember this!

I have been off-and-on with the devotional I bought for this year – Knowing the Heart of God by John Eldredge. This morning I took the time to read today’s and it was just incredible. I’d love to write the whole thing out, but I’m not sure Mr. Eldredge or Thomas Nelson publishing would be very happy with me, so I’ll just select a couple of quotes that really stood out:

(It was based on Matthew 28:18-20, where Jesus says, “Go and make disciples of all nations… And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”)

“You are not what you think you are. There is a glory to your life that your Enemy fears, and he is hell-bent on destroying that glory before you act on it.”

“The story of your life is the story of the long and brutal assault on your heart by the one who knows what you could be and fears it.”

I don’t know about you, but that revs me up! We were created to be beautiful and glorious and significant and purposeful. We humans are the only created thing made in the IMAGE of the Father God! We have an honored place in God’s creation. He treasures us, and, not content to leave us where we are, He believes in us! Because He MADE us and KNOWS us. We are accomplishing a divine purpose, a plan that has been in place since the beginning of the world, bringing glory to our Father King, the PERFECT God, the quintessence of love. The whole thing blows my mind.

If nothing else, I can live with that purpose. Even in the “not extraordinary” days, as John Eldredge refers to them. “They are filled with the mundane, with hassles mostly.” AMEN. “…But once you begin to see with those eyes, once you have begun to know it is true from the bottom of your heart, it will change everything.” I believe this by faith. I don’t currently see it, or see everything, but I know there is a bigger drama playing out behind the curtain.

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

Share Your Thoughts...

