life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

The Coffee Diaries… and The Gym.

Leave a comment

While I had The Bug, I wasn’t drinking any coffee. I’m not a huge coffee drinker in the first place – I only have a cup a day – but I am pretty dependent on that first-thing morning cup (as long as it’s not Starbucks Natural Fusions Cinnamon). Fortunately for me, I didn’t notice the withdrawal effects during The Bug because I was too busy throwing up or trying not to throw up. Then by the time The Bug was out of my system, I was officially un-addicted to caffeine!

Proud of my new healthy lifestyle, I decided not to drink coffee anymore, except for VSO’s (Very Special Occasions). Or getting the Keurig off our registry (yes, that was a shameless plug for our Bed Bath & Beyond registry).

*Cue choir of angels*

Well, that resolution lasted about two weeks. If you can even count that. I was lying to myself, telling myself I felt sooooo energetic now that I didn’t have the ups and downs of caffeine with the crash at the end… meanwhile I was falling asleep every time I sat down long enough to blink. I knew something had to be done when I started getting too tired to trust myself driving the girls. So on the *really bad days* (which was everyday), I started having a Diet Coke with lunch. Which really helped! I felt great in the afternoons. But still felt drugged in the mornings. And knew that Diet Coke is probably worse than coffee. Tuesday I stopped lying to myself and stopped for an iced coffee at Dunkin Donuts on the way back from the preschool pick-up.

“Getting coffee?” two little voices asked from the backseat. Oh, the shame.

Yesterday I held my ground until after breakfast. Then, when I was alone – like an addict – I poured myself the remainder of what was in the coffeemaker. Then sent Dayne this text: “Coffee diary approx day #14 – drinking coffee by 8:30 am. Rainy day.

Today I finally gave in and had my “normal” morning cup of coffee in front of everyone (okay, so it was in front of the mom I work for and the girls. But I might as well have worn a tee-shirt that said “WEAK”).

 

But I am getting better at something. I went to the gym today for the first time in… ever. I cut the tags off a sports bra I bought at least 2 years ago. I delightfully found a pair of gym shorts that I forgot I even had, but then vaguely remember wearing to a yoga class at some point. My Nalgene bottle finally came down off the shelf. And I met up with the lovely Ashlee and “ran” (do you run on an elliptical?) for two miles/a half hour. Not too bad. Maybe that’s a leaf I can actually turn over!

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

Share Your Thoughts...

