life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

The Text, The Bug, and The Binder.

Leave a comment

Alright, blog, I’m sorry for neglecting you. Unfortunately, you’re not alone. I have also neglected my apartment, my food intake, my two humidifers (humidifier A broke and I’m pretty sure humidifier B is on its way out), and basically everything in my life that doesn’t go in The Binder (The Binder is my wedding planning binder – divided into 8 sections and beautifully organized, I might add).

God did slow me down a bit this week from my Wedding Planning Hundred-Yard Dash. I worked on Tuesday and the mom mentioned to me that the dad had gotten what they thought was food poisoning on Sunday night. No harm done; I don’t think I even thought about it the rest of the day as I played with the girls, fed them, changed their diapers, and otherwise happily shared all kinds of germs with them. Then that night I got The Text: both the girls started throwing up. Wooooo hoooo. I put on my seatbelt and started praying and praying and praying and praying that I wouldn’t get The Bug. Even though deep in my heart, I thought it was pretty inevitable that I would get The Bug. I mean, I’m a nanny for two toddlers, and I wish I had a dollar for every time I said, “please get your hand out of your mouth”.

So I was off on Wednesday, which is when the mom came down with The Bug. Not looking good… but I got tons of wedding planning done (more stuff for The Binder)! And I was feeling pretty optimistic as I ran some errands (ginger ale and white grape peach juice… just in case, and a cake topper, for fun) and still felt really good. Then we had book study that night and I took extra care not to share germs with anyone (had Dayne put my chips in a separate bowl, thank-you-very-much). At book study, I had “that I wouldn’t get The Bug” as one of my prayer requests (I’m paraphrasing), and we all talked about how I probably wouldn’t (were my friends sincerely thinking I wouldn’t get The Bug, or were they just trying to assuage my fear of The Bug? Hmm…). I ate like a normal person — salad for dinner and chips during book study…

Then, around 9:30, it hit. The guys were still hanging around and talking phone technology with Dayne (I was half-listening and half-marveling at how bad my stomach was starting to feel). Dayne hung around for a few moments after the rest of the guys left, and we sat on the couch as I willed the increasing stomach discomfort to go away. Then Dayne left and I settled in for the long-haul. Propped up my pillows (am I the only one who can’t lay flat with an upset stomach?), put in an Everybody Loves Raymond DVD, and tried to fall asleep. I think I slept for about an hour and a half, then I was up the rest of the night with bad stomach pain and waves of nausea. Fun fun! Still didn’t think it was too bad and thought it might even pass by the time the morning rolled around, so I went to brush my teeth. Bad idea. That made me even more nauseous, and then The Bug got its vengeance.

Luckily, I only “got sick” once, and the rest of the day was spent recovering and trying to summon the energy and hutzpah to eat a cracker. I received several wedding planning emails that I ignored (the audacity! The Binder wasn’t happy), although I did manage to address, seal, and stamp all of my Save-the-Dates that afternoon. By 4:00 I could eat, and by 6:00 I had a 102-degree fever. Took some Tylenol and I was okay. Dayne brought over soup and white bread and took all the Save-the-Dates with him to drop in the mail like a good little fiancé. 🙂

Yesterday, Dayne and I had a cupcake tasting and I actually tasted some cupcake and held it down so I think I’m doing much better. Today, I may even eat regular food again! I’m trying not to let The Binder rule my life (I had so many half-crazy-dreams about wedding planning in my Wednesday night stomach pain delirium, it actually turned me off a bit from the whole process) and trying to just enjoy it in intervals. Which will hopefully give me more time for Dayne, reading, and more consistent blogging (fingers crossed!). And for God and my Bible studies. God stayed up with me all night on Wednesday through my groaning, and for that I am truly grateful. He made it quite a bit easier. At the beginning, I was wishing I was married already so that Dayne would be there to keep me company and make me feel better — then I realized that Dayne would probably be wanting to sleep and I wouldn’t be in the best mood for company really — and God just let me talk to Him and complain all night long and He was quiet but persistently there, reassuring me that all the discomfort would pass eventually. He gave me exactly what I needed (which is really what He’s good at, so it’s about time I believed Him for it). It wasn’t what I wanted (what I wanted was to be Bug-Free), but it was what I needed.

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

Share Your Thoughts...

