life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

I’m Engaged!!! :D

Leave a comment

Dayne completely surprised me and caught me off-guard with the perfect proposal!

I knew from the very beginning that I wanted to marry Dayne, so even though we’ve only been dating ten months, I have been ready to get engaged for a while šŸ™‚ We looked at rings together a couple of months ago, and I’ve been on pins and needles wondering what would happen and when. We talked about getting married often and both wanted it to happen this year.

So on Saturday, Dayne worked and then came over in the afternoon to hang out and run some errands with me – post office, Blockbuster, the library… you know, really exciting stuff. While we were in the car, Dayne suggested that since it was such a nice day, we should go for a walk. I agreed; the idea of getting some fresh air was really appealing to me after being sick for a while. He then suggested we go to Marsh Creek:

I love, love, love Marsh Creek – I’ve been going there for years and it is just a beautiful spot, particularly at sunset. Dayne and I went on a date there this past fall; we rented a rowboat and went out on the water, ate a picnic dinner, and then stayed after dark for a Star Party (a free event for astronomers and non-astronomers where you can hang out and look through telescopes at all kinds of stuff in the sky!). We also went for a walk on a trail that day and took some pretty pictures, such as this one:

So I told him I thought that idea was so romantic, and he drove me there. We got out of the car and it was actually pretty chilly with the wind blowing, but Marsh Creek was gorgeous with ice covering the lake, the setting sun reflecting on the ice, and the sound of near-silence as we were two of the only people there. We decided to walk, and went over to one of the docks. As we stepped out on it, I thought about how perfect it was being there together with the sun setting and how it would be a great place & time for Dayne to propose, but as far as I knew he hadn’t even bought a ring yet. We didn’t stay on the dock long; Dayne wanted to walk the trail we walked the last time we were there. That posed a bit of a problem because, as I told him in the car on the way there, I had worn the worst shoes for walking – ballet flats. That and it was actually a bit icy, and where it wasn’t icy it was muddy from all the melting snow. I decided to try anyway and we took a few steps down the trail. Then Dayne told me to hold on a second and ran back to the car.

I was a bit suspicious as I watched him rifle through everything in his trunk (from a distance). I wondered if he might possibly have the ring in the trunk and if he was trying to sneak it into his pocket at that point. But I didn’t think too much of it because I truly doubted he had gone shopping more than once for a ring. I yelled over to him asking what he was doing, and he said that he was looking for another pair of shoes that I could wear. He didn’t find anything except his ultimate frisbee cleats, so he came back over and I told him I was fine and we started walking. I tried to be a trooper through the mud and slipping on the ice but we soon got to a point on the trail that was just totally soaked with mud puddles. I told him I didn’t think I could walk any further, so we turned around but he looked a bit disappointed. I wondered why it meant so much to him, and he just said he wanted to go back to the bench we had spotted the last time (see above picture). So we stood there hugging for a little bit and I looked over at our shadows. I said how they looked really cool and how it would be a cute picture, and he asked if I wanted him to take a picture with his phone. I said it was alright, but he said he wanted to. So he reached into his pocket and then he said, “I have something better.”

And THEN, it was such a blur – all of a sudden he pulled out a blue box and knelt down on one knee, opened the box revealing a gorgeous Tacori engagement ring, and said, smiling, “Will you marry me?” I get a lump in my throat thinking of it now; I think (and hope) that image will always be burned in my head. šŸ™‚ I was SHOCKED. I kissed him immediately and said, “Of course!” and then, not sure because of how fast everything was happening if that was the same as saying yes, I said, “Yes!” He asked if I wanted him to put the ring on my finger and I said yes, so he put it on my finger — it was perfect.

It turns out he picked the ring that I had specifically pointed out the last time we were at Benari Jewelers. We had spent an hour looking at plain solitaire engagement rings and picking out what kind of setting and diamond we wanted, and then on the way out I couldn’t resist looking at the beautiful Tacori rings again and I pointed out one that was a solitaire but had some hand engraving and tiny diamonds on the sides that made it unique. I told him I really liked that one. He was so frustrated with me that night because of the time we spent picking out and agreeing on a certain type of ring, and then I picked out an entirely different ring on the way out! But it turns out that is the ring he ended up buying me, which I thought was so sweet and special.

AND he made it even more meaningful to me because he went over to my parents’ house to ask their permission this past Tuesday night, and he told them he would bring me over after he proposed. So we went to my parents’ house and I was able to share the news & show them the ring first! Dayne called his parents and his brother on the way over and then while with my family we called some more of my family (Erica, my aunts and uncles, etc.). That started the chain of phone calls and texts that continued throughout the night, and I couldn’t be more thrilled to hear everyone’s excitement and support!

I am SO EXCITED to start planning our wedding! I cannot even believe that I am going to be moving in with my best friend for life and we are going to be a family and I am going to be Lisa Kilheffer. I NEVER would have imagined last Valentine’s Day while I was going to church and the movies by myself and eating red velvet cupcakes that I would be ENGAGED by the same time next year! And I’m thrilled to be sharing this whole process with everyone we love.

So, needless to say, this blog is going to see a lot of wedding planning. And lots of other things, but I’m pretty sure wedding and marriage planning is going to be a big part of my life for the next few months!

^^This is a picture I took of the ring on the way home from Marsh Creek.

^^I had to take a picture as soon as I saw this: Dayne knelt down in the mud to propose!

^^Another view of the Tacori setting. It was perfect!

šŸ™‚

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

Share Your Thoughts...

