life of faith

taking baby steps & leaps & everything in between

Faith When Plans Change.

Leave a comment

Check out this sexy little number!

^^That’s who I’m going to bed with every night!

Finally went to Target to pick up a new humidifier last night after being asked all winter if I was using one. I had at long last had enough after several days of being sick with this monster cold (thanks to my monster babysitting job a couple of weekends ago – see “What the Heck Just Happened”) and waking up morning after morning with the driest mouth ever and my sinuses & throat cinderblocked with congestion.

My old humidifier is still in my closet — I just couldn’t bear to go through the whole bleach and/or vinegar cleaning and installing a new filter process when there are so many newer, more exciting humidifiers on the market now. I knew I wanted to go with Vicks because of their menthol-releasing VapoPads (the girls I nanny use them) so I just picked the one that didn’t need a filter (although Dayne will tell you the process of picking my humdifier took ten minutes… and then picking out the right cough drops took another five).

Anyways, since this blog isn’t all about humidifiers, OR cough drops — the reason why I’m writing this is because I’ve noticed recently how I react when my plans don’t go according to plan 😛

Last weekend was Dayne’s 26th birthday and our first time celebrating his birthday together, and we ended up staying home and nursing our colds. In fact, we ended up staying home all weekend. I also canceled my dinner plans tonight with a friend I hardly ever get to see. I left Bible study early on Tuesday. I’m probably not even doing the service project in Philadelphia on Saturday that I had signed up for with my dad and brother. I couldn’t even consider going out to New Jersey tonight to see Anthony Bourdain with Erica (even though I love him! And her!). Altogether, it’s a major bummer being sick.

I realized when I was “stuck” at home this past weekend that I get really irritated, sad, anxious, and kind of mean when my plans are changed. I actually found myself irritated at Dayne for being sick, which is ridiculous. And I don’t know why I have such a hard time sitting inside and just relaxing. I am trying to get better at that. Anyway, as soon as I recognized my moodiness, I made a conscious internal effort to change it, and appreciate the time for what it was – a passing setback, a mandatory rest, a pause in life, a time to be thankful for what I have. All from God! I believe that He is working through everything. And I did get to know Him better this week, which made the “life time-out” all the more worthwhile. It’s still difficult when I’m not getting to do what I wanted… and I could probably use this entry as a reminder from time to time… and I would love to just snuggle under some blankets with Dayne right now… but I’ll settle for a quiet, early night with my Vicks humidifier.

Author: lisadanielle

I love Jesus, I have a lot of flaws, and I'm seeking a life of abundant joy. That sums it up pretty nicely, actually.

Share Your Thoughts...

